Advising Center 

Purpose
The purpose of the Advising Center at Shelton State Community College is to provide knowledgeable assistance to ensure students achieve their educational goals. Assistance is provided by coaching students on the development of degree completion plans, working with students to resolve academic and personal concerns, and acting as a liaison between departments on the students’ behalf to ensure a seamless student experience.

Location
Martin Campus -  Atrium Area

Hours of Operation
Monday-Thursday   7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon

Contact Information
Email  advising@sheltonstate.edu
Phone  205.391.2242


Roles and Responsibilities of the Advisor
  • Advise students about academic requirements and selection of courses.
  • Maintain systematic and frequent contact with assigned advisees regarding registration, advising sessions, academic status, and other necessary college information.
  • Be a student advocate when appropriate.
  • Monitor student registration activities and recommend solutions to academic difficulties.

Roles and Responsibilities of the Student
  • Schedule and attend all advising appointments.
  • Be involved in the advising process by being prepared to discuss your goals and educational plans.
  • Bring a list of questions to appointments and ask questions if you do not understand a topic discussed during the meeting.
  • Take increasing responsibility for making your own decisions based on available information and advice.
All new freshmen are currently being assigned to an advisor or navigator.   Transfer and transient students are also encouraged to make use of the The Advising Center. 
 
Click here to learn more about scheduling an appointment with an advisor

Advising Center Staff

Email or call one of the Advising Center staff if you have questions regarding COMPASS testing, advising, or for general information.

  Photo Not Available   Anne Clark
aclark@sheltonstate.edu
205.391.2445


Sophia Everett, Director

severett@sheltonstate.edu
205.391.2326

Susan Grosse  Susan Grosse
sgrosse@sheltonstate.edu
Phone: 205.391.2458

 
   
 Photo Not Available
Jessica Giles
jgiles@sheltonstate.edu
Phone:  205.391.5865

   
Wanda Jennings
 
Wanda Jennings
wjennings@sheltonstate.edu
Phone: 205.391.2239

Sandi McMahon
 
Sandi McMahon
smcmahon@sheltonstate.edu
Phone: 205.391.2232 
Ryan Sabbagh
 
Ryan Sabbagh
rsabbagh@sheltonstate.edu
Phone: 205.391.3931
 
 
Forrest Smith
  
Justin (Forrest) Smith
fsmith@sheltonstate.edu
Phone: 205.391.5899
i